Menu Home

Céad Míle Fáilte

InisheerWelcome to Limerick Radio Club's Home Page.

The Limerick Radio Club was founded in 1946 by a group of Radio and Electronic enthusiasts.

IRTS Radio News Bulletin

The IRTS Radio News Bulletin is broadcast every Monday night on the Limerick Radio Club repeater on frequency 145.725 Mhz. This is a repeat of the news bulletin of the previous day on HF. The local transmission commences at 20:00 local time and is read in rotation by Simon EI7ALB, Brian EI9AL, Harry EI2KL.


The club operates two voice/digital repeaters. The 2 meter repeater, on 145.725 MHz, is located on an elevated site near Ballina, County Tipperary, while the 70 cms repeater on 433.125 MHz, is located to the west of the city on Woodcock Hill, County Clare. Both repeaters have been recently upgraded to the Yaesu Digital Fusion system, C4FM. The repeaters operate in carrier only access with Automatic Mode selection (AMS).

Location Call Channel Output Input Access
Limerick EI2TAG R5 145.725 145.125  
Limerick EI7WHR RB5 433.125 434.725  

Radio Hobbies and Electronics Fair

The club has run a very successful Radio Hobbies and Electronics Fair in the month of March each year. This fair was first mooted by Michael Kingston EI2IX in 1987 and was continued to the present time by subsequent Chairmen. Since its inception it has proved to be a major radio event in the country each year.

Contests and Field Days

Loop Head LighthouseClub members take part in various contests/field days each year using the club call-signs EI4LRC/EJ0A. For special events, such as the International Lighthouse week-end on the 3rd Sunday of August, the club obtains a special call-sign EI0LHL to operate from Loop Head Lighthouse. Thanks to Clare County Council and the Commissioners for Irish Lights, the club has continued to operate from Loop Head for the IL&LS weekend.

With the support of the IRTS, the Club is promoting Amateur Radio through the activation of special call signs allocated to the 9 Wild Atlantic Counties. The activation will continue from the 1st January to 31 December 2017.

Last Updated: March 31st 2017